Posted by: rudywatcher | October 24, 2007

For once, I feel sorry for Red Sox fans…

I personally hate the Boston Red Sox…I’m a Mets fan and I will root for the Yankees over the Sox any day. Just can’t stand the prevailing Sox fan attitude of opression and hatred of New York City.

Tonight, as the Sox take the field against the Colorado Rockies in Game 1 of the World Series, I will feel a certain kinship with a likely majority of Sox fans who find it repugnant that Rudolph Giuliani pull for their team.

Said Giuliani of his politically expedient annoucement in New Hampshire yesterday, “I’m rooting for the Red Sox. I’m an American League fan, and I go with the American League team, maybe with the exception of the Mets. Maybe that would be the one time I wouldn’t because I’m loyal to New York.”

Thanks, but no thanks, “America’s Mayor”.

Us Mets fans–if we ever do see the World Series again–won’t be needing your patronage. We’re doing quite fine without you.

This really is a non-issue, as is Hillary Rodham Clinton’s bogus claim to be a Yankee fan as much as a Chicago Cubs fans. But everyone knows that candidates hit little snags along the campaign trail and the war-loving, terrorism-invoking, peace-hating candidate has to show his nice side.

Mind you, Rudy will talk the talk on the World Series, but what about his plans for Iraq? Other than 9/11–the constant refrain of Giuliani–what justification do we have in being over there in the first place?

Oh well, what can I say, the man’s a weasel. It was nice to see New Yorkers reacting so harshly against Giuliani on this, but what real, prescient, issues? What about his betrayal of New York City in supporting the invasion and thus increasing the likelihood of terrorist attacks upon America? What about his idiotic refusal to place his emergency command center in any place other than the World Trade Center before 9/11? What about his plan for reviving the economy of the United States, particularly in his own home state, which has seen decades of decline?

Well, these are questions Rudy wont be asking his advisors, and will scarcely be asked. So long as the red herrings of 9/11 and baseball can be brought up, Americans will fail to see the real pig this man can be.

I’ll be rooting for the Rockies tonight, but I guarantee that there are some who will be pulling from their boys from Fenway, but with fingers pinched over their nostrills.

Responses

  1. I’m a NH-ite, but I don’t care about the Red Sox. In fact, I don’t know who won tonight’s game yet. Until this morning, I didn’t realize that the Red Sox were in the World Series.

    But I do know that I resent being insulted by having this Yankees fan say he’s pulling for the Red Sox. Does he think that we’re THAT stupid? That THAT is going to win him more votes?


Leave a Reply

Categories

