Posted by: rudywatcher | September 29, 2007

Giuliani: “Don’t hurl stones at me” “Jesus is my bro” “9/11 changed everything”

Let me start by saying that Jesus Christ should be everybody’s “bro”. After all, he is the King of the World, so in picking apart Rudy Giuliani, I’m certainly not going to take a shot at my God (made man).

Rudy, on his parade of pandering, ended up making a stop at Christian Broadcasting Network, where he spoke to David Brody. Naturally, being divorced twice creates a problem of credibility not only within the Roman Catholic Church (to which Rudy and I belong), but also in Evangelical churches and communities. To win the Presidential nomination Rudy must impress these people, and if that means extolling the virtues of family and guidance from God or how it fulfills a Biblical prophecy to carpet bomb the Middle East (it’s in the book somewhere, right), then that’s all good.

In explaining the cell phone bit, Rudy had to explain his third wife, Judith Nathan. In explaining her, he had to explain his divorce. In deflecting from his divorce, Rudy had to bring out his bro, our bro, Jesus of Nazareth.

 “I’m guided a lot by the story of the woman that was going to be stoned, and Jesus put the stones down and said ‘He that hasn’t sinned cast the first stone,’ and everybody disappeared,” “America’s Mayor” said.

Something tells me this is pure Rudy Giuliani at work, pandering. First of all, I’d have sympathy for Rudy extolling the passage (I believe it’s in St. Luke) if I actually thought he believed it. All he had to say was “all politicians are hypocrites” and he would have come across as more sympathetic than someone who arch-fundies can smell out as a phony from 3,000 miles away. As I said in my last post, he’ll be making a trip to Bob Jones University soon.

Of course extolling the greatness of Our Lord goes far if you’re a Franciscan friar who feeds the poor on 31st and Broadway or a prison minister or most people who want peace and don’t want to create a world of greater suffering and all-out warfare.

I hate it when politicians bring up Jesus. Not that I don’t think they should have Jesus Christ as an inspiration, the way a Jew or Muslim would have one God as their inspiration and source of strength, but I feel with politicians, they whip him out in a tacky way (we all remember Bush saying Jesus was his philosopher, he changed his heart).

I don’t buy Rudy’s Christian b.s. And it has nothing to do with my dislike of Giuliani. It has to do with the fact that this man is a fraud.

He went on to tell Brody that he prays to Christ for guidance. Maybe. Perhaps. But don’t you think that Jesus Christ, the Prince of Peace, would want a little more from you than calling for a sustained, crippling and inhumane war in Iraq or threatening to use force against Iran? I think so. Does Jesus not care about our brothers and sisters of another religion, Jews, Muslims, Hindus, Mormons? If he does, than I would think he would prefer us to focus on sustaining our lives rather than walking closer to our deaths. That’s what I think, and I’m just a little wussy liberal.

Oh…and don’t think Rudy didn’t leave the CBN broadcast without mentioning a certain terrorist tragedy upon our nation (for Rudy it’s like a calling card a movie serial killer would leave).

He explained his National Rifle Association phone flap: “Since Sept. 11, most of the time when we get on a plane, we talk to each other and just reaffirm the fact that we love each other,” he said

Giuliani then went on Bloomberg news to hurl stones at Bill Clinton for 9/11. Score two for Rudy: Christian pandering and 9/11.

 

 

Responses

  1. Why This Christian Will Never Vote For Giuliani at http://larryperrault.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

